Jeff Bridges triumphs as champion in Mini Stock finale


(CHARLOTTETOWN, PE – September 10, 2023)

Jeff Bridges (#95) earned his second-career Chris’s Bobcat Services Mini Stock Division championship on Saturday night, his first since 2021. The #95 Lightning McQueen had initially lost the title as Brandon Forsyth (#3) scored a triple victory, sending him from -19 to +4 in points, but a post-race tech discovery solidified the title for Bridges.

With Forsyth losing the title and the feature victory, Corey Bridges (#04) was moved up from second, giving him his second feature victory of the season, his first since the May 28 season opener. Jeff finished second and Randy MacTavish rounded out the podium after a heated battle for nearly the entire race with Ricky Bedell (#2), who fell short of back-to-back rounds with victories.

Bradley Darrach (#44) returned to the track for the first time since July 23 in his new neon car bought from Emma Farrell. He finished sixth in the feature, finishing ahead of two Bombers.

In the final points, Jeff wins the championship by +26 over Corey, while Forsyth drops to third at -33. MacTavish, Cash Bridges (#69), and Bedell round out the full-timers.

Fun fact, while Jeff was doing his burnout, there was a lightning show occurring north of the track. How ironic. Kachow.

In the Central Engine Services Street Stock Division, Brandon Albert (#37) collected $500 with a dominant performance in the 50-lap feature, scoring his third feature victory of the season, his second in a row after winning on Labour Day. 2023 champion Tyler Gauthier (#11) was slowly approaching him just past the halfway point, but wouldn’t have enough. He hung on over two-time champion Colton Ford (#35) in an incredible back-and-forth battle within the final laps.

Three-time champion Nick Chiasson (#27) and 21-time award winner Randy Millar (#77) rounded out the top five, with other participants including Tyler Doucette (#24) and Gerald MacQuarrie (#50). Ford and Gauthier won the heat and semi races, respectively.

In the Reliable Motors Beginner Bandolero Division, Payton Gallant (#42) scored her first-career victory at Oyster Bed Speedway in the 15-lap feature, barely hanging on over points leader Mason Gillis (#9) in a yellow-and-checkered flag finish. The race ended under yellow as Andrew O’Connor (#63) and Rhyan Burke (#01) wrecked in Turns 1 & 2.

O’Connor wasn’t the only one of the top three drivers in points to get caught up in misfortune, as Hudson Linzel-Waddell (#57) had nowhere to go against a spinning Irelyn Rose (#47) on lap three in Turn 4. Rose started on pole but was divebombed by Gillis en route to the incident. Rose also won semi #1, with other heat and semi wins going to Gillis, Burke, and O’Connor.

In the points heading into the championship finale, it’s now a five-point cushion between Gillis and O’Connor, while Linzel-Waddell drops to -19 behind Gillis.

In the Reliable Motors Outlaw Bandolero Division, points leader Landon Pierce (#19) returned to Oyster Bed Speedway victory lane for the second round in a row. However, if we exclude the TCM September Shootout and only count point-paying races, it’s Pierce’s first time since July 23. He and Cole Doyle (#12) fought spirited battles throughout the entire night, with Pierce winning the heat race and Doyle winning the semi race.

Simon Doyle (#91) and Hunter MacKinnon (#07) collected third and fourth place finishes, respectively, in all three races. There were no cautions in any race.

In the points heading into the championship finale, Pierce gained five points and has a comfortable lead. MacKinnon moves up to fourth from fifth as Wyatt Peters (#33) was absent on Saturday night.

In the Moore Well Drilling Outlaw Division, former Modified and Pro Stock champion Matt Palmer (#5) scored his first feature victory and second overall victory of the season. Palmer was more of a backmarker during the heat and semi races, but an early caution and an inside-line advantage from third place on the restart gave him momentum as he shot away from the field.

This round awarded no points, so with the absence of top point drivers such as Ricky Millar (#17), the LeClairs (Jessie #46, Jordan #47), and Ryan McKnight (#46m), several other drivers took advantage to gain money and headlines.

Jamie Cummings (#81) finished runner-up and Labour Day feature winner Kendall Palmer (#45) rounded out the podium in a successful run for the Palmer boys. Layton Delaney (#7) won the heat and semi races but wound up fourth in the feature. Gerald Gallant (#99G) finished fifth, Drake Folland (#33) finished sixth, and polesitter Harley Cornish (#13) exited to the pits around halfway.

Heading into the championship finale, Ricky Millar has an 81-point lead and will more than likely be crowned champion. But, as they say, anything’s possible.

In the Red Rock/Toy Master Motorsports Legends Division, 2021 Bandolero champion Tanton Wooldridge (#0) was the class of a three-car field, winning both the heat and the feature. Wooldridge now has four overall victories this season in house division action, his first two coming on Canada Day.

The Maritime League of Legends Tour driver was joined by Aiden MacDonald (#13) and Stephen Piccott Jr. (#34), who rounded out the feature podium. With the Legends busy at Scotia Speedworld on September 23, this past Saturday was the final round for the Legends, so we’d like to thank those who came out for the house division rounds.

Full race results will be uploaded in the near future. New points standings are available on their respective page. Oyster Bed Speedway returns to racing for one last time on Saturday, September 23 with racing from all five house divisions and the Bombers.

The Beginner & Outlaw Bandoleros will have their championship finales, the Mini Stocks will run a non-point money feature, the Outlaws will have their championship finale, and the Street Stocks will have the coveted Piston Cup 100. The green flag is at 6pm with a weather date on Sunday, September 24 at 2pm.


Race days remaining per division (as of September 9)

Beginner Bandolero: 1 (Sept. 23)

Outlaw Bandolero: 1 (Sept. 23)

Mini Stock: 1 (Sept. 23)

Note: Sept. 23rd is for money, no points.

Outlaw: 1 (Sept. 23)

Street Stock: 1 (Sept. 23)

Note: Points are done for this division. The 23rd is the Piston Cup 100.

Bombers: (Sept. 23)

Legends: 0

Pro Stocks: 0

Hot Rods: 0

Points leaders

Beginner Bandolero: Mason Gillis (#9)

Outlaw Bandolero: Landon Pierce (#19)

Mini Stock is done for points. Jeff Bridges (#95) is your 2023 Chris’s Bobcat Services Mini Stock Division champion.

Outlaw: Ricky Millar (#17)

Street Stock is done for points. Tyler Gauthier (#11) is your 2023 Central Engine Services Street Stock Division champion.


Stay up-to-date on our social media platforms and the website as we continue to reveal news and information, and continue the HYPE during a THRILLING racing season!

Follow us on FacebookInstagramTwitterYouTube, and TikTok. You can also check out our merchandise website at Shop Samantha Busch merch is available there and will be at the race track every race weekend.

About Oyster Bed Speedway:
Oyster Bed Speedway is Prince Edward Island’s premier auto racing facility and features fun and excitement with weekly stock car racing special events throughout the season. The 1/3 mile paved oval is located in Oyster Bed Bridge at the intersection of routes 6 and 7, halfway between Cavendish and Charlottetown on beautiful Prince Edward Island.



Reegan MacAulay

You may also like


Comments are closed.

More in News